1 and 2 stops working

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Rainbowlarva, Mar 4, 2019.

  1. Rainbowlarva

    Rainbowlarva Electron

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Nebulae:
    592
    Every time I connect to the Half Life 2 server my number keys will work for maybe thirty minutes. After that thirty minutes is up, then my 1 and 2 keys will stop working in the in-game chat. It is fine when I use them in the console.

    I have suspicions that it may be due to the discord overlay similar to steams overlay. Does anyone else use this and have the same problem?
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 1
  2. PandaCG

    PandaCG Hates Combine for Kill Family
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Nebulae:
    177
    i've had this too, couldn't figure out why

    i'm assuming it has something to do with the console or steam overlay or something, i'd turn overlays off and see if there's any change. i rarely get it but i distinctly remember it stopped working after using the console once, not sure if that's related though or my memory is bad
     
  3. Jaydawg

    Jaydawg Blackwheeeel
    Moderator HL2 RP Senior Administrator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,786
    Nebulae:
    2,564
    Do you use +sit 1/2?

    If so try -sit, wondering if that's it.
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Rainbowlarva

    Rainbowlarva Electron

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Nebulae:
    592
    damn I think you might actually be right
    will try next time im on
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 1
  5. Boonji

    Boonji Neutrino
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Nebulae:
    13
    If that fix doesnt work you can always try rebinding all your keys by going back to default and rebind the essentials.
     
  6. Rainbowlarva

    Rainbowlarva Electron

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Nebulae:
    592
    I managed to create the issue by opening the discord overlay with ~ + Shift.
    If I open up the console before the discord overlay it fucks everything.
     
  7. sots

    sots Atom

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Messages:
    812
    Nebulae:
    2,652
    Tends to happen when I tab out of the game too
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 1
  8. Rainbowlarva

    Rainbowlarva Electron

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Nebulae:
    592
    The newest issue I've had is the constant repeating of the portal and nexus effects. stopsound does it but it'll just restart itself again
    I had to mute my game to stay on the server today
     
  9. John McRee

    John McRee drpepper10's disappointed dad

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    2,338
    Nebulae:
    1,551
    verify game file integrity

    usually a good universal fix
     
  10. Ricsow

    Ricsow host_timescale 0.1
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    690
    Nebulae:
    770
    I get this problem too, but to fix it, I usually go into the console, type in the needed number and copy it. For some reason I (at least) can still type the number into the console for some reason.
     
  11. Rainbowlarva

    Rainbowlarva Electron

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Nebulae:
    592
    if you use the discord overlay then it's caused by that somewhere down the road
    ive tried closing the discord overlay with escape, clicking the x, clicking off screen and repressing the same key combo
    no matter what 1 and 2 stop working
     
  12. Medicine

    Medicine Quark

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Nebulae:
    66
    lmao I've got this for years, it happens a lot but my average fix for it was not to use discord and no /act

    it only really does this in-game, of course

    you should just avoid them both (ik that's a shitty solution but it'll be fine initially maybe???)
     
  13. Rainbowlarva

    Rainbowlarva Electron

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Nebulae:
    592
    Late response but this issue has been mostly fixed for me.
    I started using my phone for chats instead of overlays and haven't gotten it since.

    Gonna stop looking at this thread now since my issue is worked around
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice