Insane lag on a relatively powerful PC

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by spalius, Nov 17, 2019.

  1. spalius

    spalius Electron

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    981
    Nebulae:
    556
    Hey guys. After reinstalling gmod, for some reason everything started to run really badly. It was bad before, but now it's even worse.
    I get around 24fps with:
    Ryzen 3 1200
    RX 570
    16gb DDR4 2666Mhz ram
    SSD
    I tried making it run on multicore, and it did improve the FPS a little but not much. The performance is bad mostly on the server.
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 1
  2. Masky

    Masky Full time lurker, Part time social anxiety attack.
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Nebulae:
    164
    A little late on this but worth a shot.

    How many addons do you have from the workshop? If you have a lot I have noticed lag on the server on even the lowest settings.

    If you believe this is the case just unsubscribe from all workshop content (theres a button for it), grab only the server content and try it then.
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 1
  3. Jaydawg

    Jaydawg Blackwheeeel
    Moderator Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,303
    Nebulae:
    4,897
    Is this on Neb of Singleplayer?

    Cause if it’s Singleplayer/Private server or w/e then try disable StormFox as there’s a memory leak in the addon currently that slowly drains your FPS until you freeze the time/weather. Of course we fixed it on neb but the add on itself is broken.

    otherwise, try disable some adding etc.
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 3
  4. spalius

    spalius Electron

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    981
    Nebulae:
    556
    I only have the addons that neb requires.
    It's mainly happening only on the server.
     
  5. aeromantis

    aeromantis christmas bike!
    HL2 RP Administrator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Nebulae:
    624
    yeah I'm getting only marginally better performance on a Ryzen 5 2600, RTX 2070, and 3200mhz 16gb ram, with an SSD no less.
    just seems to be a gmod hl2rp thing, it's better than what clockwork was, but it's still not great.

    singleplayer i can grab 200fps easy.
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 2
  6. Legionary Oswald

    Legionary Oswald 3000 dead Profligates
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,911
    Nebulae:
    3,163
    Okay guys, quit bragging, I'm POOR OKAY?
     
  7. spalius

    spalius Electron

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    981
    Nebulae:
    556
    Weeeell, you can get a decent PC for like 600, very slightly outdated but runs most games today.

    Besides, if you only play GMOD then the difference will be minimal if you upgrade
     
  8. Kenny.

    Kenny. Electron

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    571
    Nebulae:
    550
    dunno if this will really help or anything but you can try stuff like fps_max 0 and gmod_mcore_test 1 in the console
     
  9. spalius

    spalius Electron

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    981
    Nebulae:
    556
    As I said, I already did gmod_mcore_test 1, fps_max 0 won't help because nothing is limiting my fps

    besides, it only lags on multiplayer, not singleplayer
     
  10. Kenny.

    Kenny. Electron

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    571
    Nebulae:
    550
    well gmod is a poorly optimized game
    i recommend setting down the shadows to low as they dont change anything except take up a lot of fps
     
  11. Nova_

    Nova_ Proton

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    560
    Nebulae:
    464
    Just gonna chip in, I have a Ryzen 2700x with a 2080ti and my FPS is pretty shit too, so don't blame it on the hardware.

    What I will say is though that your 1600 is gonna get dated pretty quick.
     
  12. Ricsow

    Ricsow The title that displays under my name in my posts

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,727
    Nebulae:
    3,296
    mat_dxlevel 90
    I was playing on a map with like 10-15 Fps once, typed this command, got 200 fps. Makes the game look worse, though.
     
  13. spalius

    spalius Electron

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    981
    Nebulae:
    556
    Okay, so I managed to fix the lag on my PC (for now). Here's what I did in this order:

    1. mat_dxlevel 90
    2. mat_dxlevel 98
    3. gmod_mcore_test 1
    4. make the settings as high as possible
    I have no idea why this fixed it for me, but I hope it also fixed things for you!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice