Problems with (Possibly) GPU?

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Nicrobe, Aug 9, 2018 at 6:51 AM.

  1. Nicrobe

    Nicrobe Lord of Ineptitude
    HL2 RP Senior Administrator Media Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,895
    Nebulae:
    7,042
    Hi. Ever since I had this laptop I currently have, I was under the impression and assumption that something is wrong with its dedicated graphics chip (GT 650m). Whenever I enabled it for games and so on, I'd always get this weird.. Glitchy look on some meshes or renders/shadows. As if bits of polygons on the models are just jittering all over the place.

    It has started making me go insane, because after the last windows update the system has started FORCING me to use the (Possibly??) faulty gpu instead of my integrated graphics solution (Intel HD Graphics 4000) which did not have the same issue.

    Now all my drivers are as up to date as they can be, so I know that couldn't possibly be the issue. I'm looking for help, because this is genuinely making me go insane

    This doesn't happen in Call of Pripyat, weirdly. Only in Shadow of Chernobyl, which has 10x more fps issues (Which is weird, considering CoP is a newer game with better graphics and more things going on at any given time.)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Weirdly enough, this used to happen to basically every single surface in the game until something changed, which I couldn't figure out. Now it's only hand models (Sometimes) and tree/canopy shadows (They just jump and spaz everywhere like that)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    This did not used to happen until the windows update, funnily enough. It happens on every surface, almost. Most prominently on animated ones, I.E. ragdolls/char models.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 1
  2. Evil

    Evil `impulse-approved
    HL2 RP Senior Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    12,136
    Nebulae:
    18,367
    Have you tried looking fpr any new driver software?
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 1
  3. Nicrobe

    Nicrobe Lord of Ineptitude
    HL2 RP Senior Administrator Media Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,895
    Nebulae:
    7,042
    When I was updating it to try and fix it, I have learned that my computer manufacturer had a "custom driver" which couldn't be updated and was from 2012.

    I replaced it with a generic driver from intel and nvidia now, fully up to date. Problems still persist
     
  4. John McRee

    John McRee Gmod & Paint.NET Artiste
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    Nebulae:
    781
    The Insurgency Issue is due to a Driver not being updated to a Specific Driver, I think. A similar thing happens with textures in GTA 5 if your driver isn't up to date with the specific graphics update. I haven't played GTA 5 in a long time, but when it happened I checked a tutorial on how to fix Black Lines across Player Models, and I presume this would help the issue with Insurgency.

    The Garry's Mod issue is likely a similar issue, however it may also be an issue caused by your graphics settings. I'm not an expert on stuff like this, but unless you're able to improve your shadow quality in Garry's Mod, you may be out of luck for a solution. The same goes for STALKER.

    Like I said, I'm not an expert. This is just my speculation on how it may be fixed.
     
  5. Nicrobe

    Nicrobe Lord of Ineptitude
    HL2 RP Senior Administrator Media Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,895
    Nebulae:
    7,042
    That isn't the problem. It's different, in the sense that for some reason the geometry of models (The polygons on the meshes) are just jittery and weird, as if they just shake and glitch everywhere. In insurgency, the black lines you see are just the shadows casted from the tree canopies' models, which seems to have a rather amplified effect compared to everything else.
     
  6. John McRee

    John McRee Gmod & Paint.NET Artiste
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    Nebulae:
    781
    In Gmod, I had a very similar issue with the geometry of the Industrial Suits. Like, it was all plummeted into the ground except the boots and it was all a mesh hehe funny pun

    Honestly, the way I fixed it was by purging my addons and then redownloading the content pack. Have you tried reinstalling the games, or verifying the game cache?
     
  7. Nicrobe

    Nicrobe Lord of Ineptitude
    HL2 RP Senior Administrator Media Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,895
    Nebulae:
    7,042
    It happens on literally every game that has 3d models and renderers (Besides a select few). Games themselves are fine, my problem is with my gpu
     
  8. John McRee

    John McRee Gmod & Paint.NET Artiste
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    Nebulae:
    781
    What Laptop do you use?
     
  9. Nicrobe

    Nicrobe Lord of Ineptitude
    HL2 RP Senior Administrator Media Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,895
    Nebulae:
    7,042
    Currently, a Samsung NP550-P5C-S02TR
     
  10. John McRee

    John McRee Gmod & Paint.NET Artiste
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    Nebulae:
    781
    Yeah, it's a problem with your GPU. I checked it here and it overall isn't that good with graphics. Best solution is either a new GPU, or a New Computer, because your Laptop isn't designed for gaming.
     
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  11. Nicrobe

    Nicrobe Lord of Ineptitude
    HL2 RP Senior Administrator Media Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,895
    Nebulae:
    7,042
    Been dreaming of that for the last 4 years...
     
    • nebulous nebulous x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice