Questions from a newbie.

Fagoth Ur

String
Nebulae
Hello everyone,

I am not sure if the "general" section is the right place to create this thread but I couldn't find anywhere better. I wanted to create a questions thread for myself. I am new to the whole RP deal though I know the gist of it. I have read the both rules and the guides. I did not stay for long in the server since I am somewhat afraid to make mistakes and piss off the kind of people I shouldn't piss off. I lurked in the forums for a while and realised there is much to learn. For example, I have seen that there was a dispute of somekind relating to something called S2K or S2RP and some people got banned because they did something they shouldn't have. If I was in the server at the time I would have no idea what it meant so I would probably be banned too. I want to avoid these kind of things since the environment seems somewhat unforgiving even though I imagine most around here is friendly from the little I gathered. I understand the reasons behind it being unforgiving and I am not complaining about it. All I want is to avoid any mistakes that is avoidable. At any rate, I would like to write about the questions on my mind at this time.

1. What is S2K or S2RP? I heard it referenced as sweep too so I guess it's a raid like in the start of HL2.
2. Would it be okay to start trying to RP in the server before getting more knowledgeable about the whole ordeal? I would say I got the basics from reading the guide and rules.
3. Is it okay to ask questions in OOC chat? I thought it might be okay but when I saw there was a sort of cooldown before I can ask something again, I realised it's better if it's not used often.