Serious SFM impact on Gmod culture

Hudson

Electron
Nebulae
#Edit:
An article has been written.

Original post:
While researching the history of Gmod culture I wondered if the Source Filmmaker was relevant to it, but I'm not experienced with it. I thought I'd open a discussion and tag the Media Developers that are familiar with it.
@Elan @Cavity @MaXenzie @Dicknose @Rogue Synapse @Gary @Ricsow @Jacksquare

Is SFM relevant to Gmod? Did its release (July 2012) impact Gmod culture? Has it been important to nebulous? Is any of the Gmod content readily compatible with SFM?

Last edited:
Reactions: List

Ricsow

professional retard
HL2 RP Administrator
Media Developer
Nebulae
Is SFM relevant to Gmod?
SFM is a alternative to Gmod Animation, outside of that they aren‘t too relevant to eachother.

Did its release (July 2012) impact Gmod culture?
I started playing in 2012 so I can‘t really tell you.

Has it been important to nebulous?
Not really outside of biographies and the player guide (which I worked on)

Is any of the Gmod content readily compatible with SFM?
Yes, almost all of it works with SFM except for big maps, but if you know how to use Hammer then you can probably make most maps work with Some drawbacks.

MaXenzie

Sexually attracted to robots
Media Developer
GTA RP Playtester
Nebulae
Is SFM relevant to Gmod?

if you check the big Gmod animation content creators, 90% of them did not move to SFM. SFM created its own breed of artists who were generally separate to Gmod. so, nah, not really relevant

not as much as TF2 culture, since the Saxxys exist. not much on SFM made an impact on gmod, since it was only big for Dota and TF2

unfortunately not. the media team gets most of their work making graphic design logos in photoshop, any job that could potentially require gmod or SFM is usually supplanted by the event coordinator just going on google images and cropping a IRL image